2006 Campbell Conference:
"The State of the Science Fiction Novel"
July 6-9, 2006

Information Map
2007 Conference Planning Begins!
George Zebrowski's Keynote Address
Photos and Reports from 2006
Special Guests from 2006
Schedule of Events for 2006
Reports from Previous Campbell Conferences

Campbell Award winners and Hall of Fame inductees
Special Guests from 2004
George Zebrowski (Campbell Award 1999 winner and Sturgeon Award juror), Frederik Pohl (the only two-time Campbell winner, 1978 and 1985), Gregory Benford (Campbell 1981), Jack McDevitt (Campbell 2004), Brian Aldiss (1983 Campbell winner, SF&F Hall of Fame inductee, and First Fandom Hall of Fame inductee), and Hall of Fame inductee Harry Harrison. Aldiss and Harrison created the Campbell Award in 1972. Photo courtesy Karen Gunn.

The topic for 2006 was, "The state of the SF novel," with a keynote address on the subject by Lou Anders and George Zebrowski.

George Zebrowski's Keynote Address

Click here to read George Zebrowski's 2006 Campbell Conference keynote address. Click here to read Richard Curtis' essay, "P & L," supporting Zebrowski's talk. Click here to read Richard Curtis' essay, "Royalty Statements," also supporting Zebrowski's talk.

Photos and Reports

Here are some photos and reports from this year's activities:

Tracy Majkol Campbell Conference 2006 Photos
Keith Stokes Campbell Conference 2006 Photos
Lou Anders' Blog
Award Annals Story on 2006 Campbell Winners
CBC News Story
Lawrence Journal-World News Story
Robert J. Sawyer's Story
SFWA News Story
UPI News Story

Special Guests for 2006

The Conference usually brings to campus the winners of the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards as special guests. CSSF Director James Gunn is our permanent special guest, and CSSF Associate Director and SF author Christopher McKitterick has participated since 1992.

Guests expected for the 2006 Campbell Conference:

  • Lou Anders is the editorial director of Pyr Books, and has edited a number of other publications. Mr. Anders is also a prolific author, with more than 500 publications to his name.
  • Paolo Bacigalupi started publishing SF in 1999 and writes and edits for High Country News.
  • Robin Wayne Bailey fantasy and science fiction author who is a recent president of SFWA. Mr. Bailey was a key player in the 1996 creation of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Hall of Fame, and is on the advisory board of the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame in Seattle. Robin Wayne Bailey lives in Kansas City, MO.
  • Bradley Denton, a KU alum, has been nominated for every major award in the genre. His work won the Campbell Award in 1992, the Prix .38 Calibre in 1993, and the World Fantasy Award in 1995, and was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award.
  • James Gunn is a science fiction author and historian, KU professor emeritus of English, and director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction. He is a past president of SFWA and is chair of the Campbell Award jury to select the best science-fiction novel of the year. Dr. Gunn is on the advisory board of the SF Museum and Hall of Fame and lives in Lawrence, KS.
  • Kij Johnson is an author of several fantasy and SF novels and short stories. She is an editor for Real Networks, teaches writing and science fiction writing, is a Sturgeon Award juror (and 1994 winner), and often teaches the Science Fiction Novel Workshop. Ms. Johnson lives in Seattle, WA.
  • John Ordover, a former student of James Gunn, is now Editor-in-Chief of Phobos Books. He has been an editor for Tor Books and was managing editor of the Star Trek book series.
  • Pamela Sargent is a science and historical fiction author, editor, and literary critic whose stories and books have been published in several languages. She also serves as a Campbell Award juror. Ms Sargent lives in New York.
  • Robert J. Sawyer is a writer, teacher, and speaker. He has won both the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award as well as a number of other awards, and is a two-time finalist for the Campbell Award. Mr. Sawyer lives in Canada near Toronto with his wife, poet Carolyn Clink.
  • George Zebrowski has been a science fiction author, critic, editor, and scholar since 1960. He has written more than 12 novels, edited dozens of science fiction anthologies, and published countless short stories. He won the 1999 Campbell Award and currently serves as a Sturgeon Award juror. Mr. Zebrowski lives in New York.
  • This year's Campbell and Sturgeon Award winners: Sawyer and Bacigalupi.

Schedule of Events

Thursday, July 6, 7:30 pm, Alderson Auditorium, KU Memorial Union
       Lou Anders and George Zebrowski keynote presentations on the state of the science-fiction novel.

Friday, July 7, 1:00 - 4:00 pm, First Floor Lobby of Ellsworth Hall
       "The Secrets of Successful Science Fiction" with our special guests.

Friday, July 7, 6:00 - 9:00 pm, Kansas Room, KU Memorial Union
       Awards banquet for John Campbell Award for best SF novel of the year and the Theodore Sturgeon Award for best short SF of the year.
       Informal off-campus reception to follow.

Saturday, July 8, 9:00 am, Malott Room, KU Memorial Union
       Round-table Campbell Conference discussion.

Saturday Lunch, Malott Room, KU Memorial Union
       Registered Conference attendees receive an informal, complimentary lunch.

Saturday, July 8, 12:45 pm, Oread Bookstore, KU Memorial Union
       Mass signing by special guests.

Saturday, July 8, 1:30 pm, 100 Smith Hall
       John Ordover presents about the current state of the science-fiction novel.
Saturday, July 8, 2:00 - 6:00, 100 Smith Hall
       Interviews and talks with our special guests.  

Saturday, July 8, 8:30 pm
       Informal off-campus reception.

Sunday, July 9, 9:00 am, First Floor Lobby of Ellsworth Hall
       Meet the award winners and other attending guests!

The Campbell Conference is the concluding event of the Writers Workshop in Science Fiction and the beginning of the Intensive Institute onthe Teaching of Science Fiction. Held regularly at the University of Kansas since 1973, the Conference provides a setting for the presentation of three science-fiction honors:

Beginning in 2004, winners of both awards receive trophies. Starting in 2005, the Science Fiction Hall of Fame inductions moved to the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame in Seattle. The Center for the Study of Science Fiction continues to sponsor the Conference and Awards ceremony, which take place at the University of Kansas, and we may resume involvement with the Hall of Fame in other ways; stay tuned for news.

The Kansas Union Oread Bookstore also usually holds a signing for the attending authors on the Saturday of the Conference. See the full schedule of events for more information. We hope to for all Conference attendees to be able to pick up a copy of the Sturgeon Award-winning short story at the Bookstore during the signing - just present your badge.

Campbell and Sturgeon awards

Reports About Past Conferences

Click the links below to see reports about previous Campbell Conferences.

2005 Campbell Conference report

2004 Campbell Conference report

2003 Campbell Conference report

2002 Campbell Conference report

Photos from Past Conferences

Click the links below to see Keith Stokes' MidAmerican Fan photo-archives of previous years' activities.

2006 Campbell Conference photos

2005 Campbell Conference photos

2004 Campbell Conference photos

2003 Campbell Conference photos

2002 Campbell Conference photos

2001 Campbell Conference photos

2000 Campbell Conference photos

1998 Campbell Conference photos

1997 Campbell Conference photos

1996 Campbell Conference photos

updated 8/28/2006